Babar Azam joins Kohli, Dhoni and de Villiers in an elite list

Sports Tak Staff
January 272023

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam won the ICC's Men's ODI cricketer of the Year award.

The match-winnings knocks, spell-binding stroke-play and memorable moments all came handy for Babar to claim the elusive award for the 2nd consecutive year.

Pakistan's skipper became only the fourth cricketer to bag the award in successive years. 

Babar Azam also claimed the honours in 2021. 

MS Dhoni was the first cricketer to bag Men's ODI cricketer award in consecutive years. He won it in 2008 and 2009. 

AB de Villiers won the Men's ODI cricketer of the year award in 2014 and 2015. 

Virat Kohli bagged the Men's ODI cricketer of the year award in 2017 and 2018. Overall, he has bagged the honour thrice. 

In the year 2022, Babar played a total of nine ODI matches in which he amassed 679 runs. 

Click Here