Border-Gavaskar Trophy: A head-to-head comparison of India and Australia in Tests

Sports Tak Staff
February 42023

The four-match Test series between India and Australia — also called the Border-Gavaskar Trophy — kicks off on February 9. 

The first Test will be played in Nagpur between February 9 and 13.

These two sides are currently No.1 and 2 respectively in the ICC Test rankings. 

India and Australia first played for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 1996-97.

Before that, the two teams faced off in 50 Tests across 12 series between 1947-48 and 1991-92. 

In total, the two sides have played 27 Test series since their first meeting in 1947-48. 

India v Australia - Head to Head
Matches: 102
Won by India: 30 
Won by Australia: 43
Drawn: 28
Tied: 1

Australia lead the way with 12 series wins to India’s 10, while five series have been drawn.

India have hosted Australia in 14 Test series and hold an 8-4 lead, with two of the series being drawn.

Next Story