Team India clinches its ninth World Cup title. A look at the timeline

Sports Tak Staff
January 292023

The Indian cricket team have so far won the ICC World Cup title nine times across formats. When did these trophies come? Let's take a look.

India won the first World Cup back in 1983 under the captaincy of legendary Kapil Dev when they defeated West Indies.

India won their second World Cup title in 2000. Under the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif, India won the Under-19 World Cup after defeating Sri Lanka.

In 2007, India clinched their third World Cup title. India won the first T20 World Cup after defeating Pakistan under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

In 2008, India won their 4th World Cup title in the form of Under 19 World Cup when they defeated South Africa under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

In 2011, India won the 50 over World Cup for the second time when they defeated Sri Lanka in the final under Dhoni's captaincy.

In 2012, Unmukt Chand won the Under-19 World Cup title for India after defeating Australia in the summit clash.

India again won the Under 19 World Cup in 2018 under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw.

In 2022, under Yash Dhul's captaincy India became Under 19 World Cup champions yet again as they defeated England in the final.

On January 29, 2023, the Women in Blue won the Under-19 Women's T20 World Cup under the captaincy of Shafali Verma after defeating England.

Next Story