Watch: Maxwell furious after bizarre run out dismissal despite Karthik's gloves dislodging one bail from the stumps

Watch: Maxwell furious after bizarre run out dismissal despite Karthik's gloves dislodging one bail from the stumps

The third T20I between Team India and Australia is underway with the series tied at 1-1 as Rohit Sharma-led side won the toss and elected to bowl first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on blockbuster Sunday (September 25).

Put to bat first Cameron Green gave a cracking start to Australia as he belted Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Axar Patel left right and centre. He didn't even spare Jasprit Bumrah for that matter.

Soon Axar got rid of skipper Aaron Finch (7) and then Bhuvneshwar topped it up with Green's wicket after the batter's carnage-filled knock of 52 off 21 loaded with seven fours and three sixes.

Then came Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell who tried to steady's Australia's boat. But when Australia's scoreboard ready 75/2, Maxwell got run out in a bizarre fashion.

 

Maxwell, who is known for his ruthless hitting in the shortest format of the game, looked struggling at the crease and in an attempt of stealing a second run, found himself back in the pavilion. Axar Patel's bullet throw in the eighth over caught Maxwell well short of the crease, but the Indian wicketkeeper Dinesh Kartik was guilty of making contact with the stumps before the ball did.

 

However, the replays from the side showed that keeper Karthik’s gloves hit the stumps before the ball did and dislodged the bails. However, another reply from the front showed that the gloves dislodged only one bail and the other was done by the ball hitting the stumps.

 

But Maxwell didn't survive since third umpire KN Anantha Padmanabhan found that despite Karthik's contact with the stump, the bails on top it hadn't been removed from its position until Patel's throw dislodged it completely.

 

The end result made for contentious scenes since the entire Indian fielding unit had taken their positions back after the appeal, presuming that Glenn Maxwell. They and the batter were in for the shock of their lives when the giant screen displayed 'out', triggering anger on the face of Maxwell, who was seen having a quick word with the standing umpires. 

 

Here's the video…

 

 

What MCC law has to say to Maxwell's dismissal

The law states, "If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of the ground."

 

According to the above law, if one bail remains intact on the stumps, the batter can still be adjudged run-out if the ball hits the stumps or dislodges the remaining bail. Glenn Maxwell was clearly frustrated by the decision as his horrible series continued with another low score.