Did Akash Deep get Joe Root's wicket off a no-ball? Commentator says 'Not picked up' - Here's what the law says

IND vs ENG 2nd Test: England lost the prized wicket of Joe Root late into Day 4's proceedings. There was controversy around Root's wicket with some suggesting that Akash Deep's back foot while delivering the ball was outside the return crease.

Profile

Sports Tak

UPDATED:

Akash Deep

Akash Deep while delivery the ball that got the wicket of Joe Root on Day 4 of Edgbaston Test.

Story Highlights:

Joe Root was dismissed for a single-digit score by Akash Deep.

It seemed that Deep's back foot was outside the return crease.

However, the replay showed that his back foot's heel was in the air.

India's Akash Deep may have bowled one of the best delivery of the ongoing Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy already. Deep went wide of the crease, pitched it slightly fuller and then the ball moved away from Joe Root's bat to crash into the stumps. However, replays showed that the TV umpire may have missed the back foot no-ball. 

Commentator Alison Mitchell on BBC TMS noted that the TV umpire did not pick up Deep's back foot landing outside the return crease.

“The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" Mitchell said. 

 

 

But, it was later made clear that Deep's heel was in the air and did not touch the ground. That's why the TV umpire did not call a no-ball. Former India head coach Ravi Shastri also said the same while commentating.

ALSO READ: 'Tomorrow for us it's just going to be...': India's bowling coach Morne Morkel warns England batters ahead of Day 5, points out it won't be like 1st innings

Here's what the MCC Law 21.5.1 says-

"For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease."

 

 

ALSO READ: 'I could still hit one or two sixes of course, but...': Faf du Plessis explains why he retired out on 91 and missed his 9th T20 century

Deep gets key wickets late into Day 4

Root was dismissed for a single-digit score. He became Deep's second wicket of Day 4's last session. He had knocked over opener Ben Duckett by bowling around the wicket. On Day 4, he bowled eight overs including one maiden, conceded 36 runs and claimed a couple of wickets.

England were 72/3 after 16 overs. Ollie Pope and Harry Brook remained not out for 44-ball 24 and run-a-ball 15 respectively. England need 536 more runs to win the Test. 

    Share